Things we said in Maine

My husband and I spent a week together away from home. It was nice. But we spent almost no time apart except for sleeping. Seriously. Every waking minute. Cramped in a car, stuck in a one room B&B suite, walking along the beach… a week people. I love him and all, but I needs my space too. Thank God there was some beer along the way. There had to be – or he might be seriously hurt. Anyway – this blog is some of the conversations we had along the way as a result of too much time spent together.

“I really want to see a moose,” I say “Do you think we would see one even if it was laying down? I mean they are big, right?”
My husband calmly, with not the slightest tinge of a smile responds: “Well, unless their antlers were camouflage… you know, made of pine cones or something.”

“There is a Tim Horton’s!” my husband shouts (and points).
“What’s a Tim Horton’s?”
“It’s like a Dunkin Donuts… well they are the Canadian Dunkin Donuts,” he explains “but better because the donuts are made metrically.”

“Clock.” (said over and over again every time I saw a clock on a building. Did you know there are a lot of clocks on buildings in New England? It’s like they invented the whole clock-on-a-building thing. … Wait. I might have to look that up. I was too concerned about moose to think about that. Maybe they did invent that.)

“Welcome to Woolwich. Mayor: Elmer Fudd.” (You see because we have Woolrich here…)

“That’s bigger than twelve inches…” smirk (I think this might have been about a moose.) “that’s what she said.”
“Said no girl ever.”

“Don’t smuggle me!” You see… what I MEANT to say was “Don’t smother me” and “Go ahead and snuggle me”, but it came out as “Don’t smuggle me.” I admit – I had taken my ambien already when this happened. Things get a little murky after I take my ambien… My husband asked me if he thought I was going to take him to a Tim Horton’s.

“Dear Lord. I know I’ve been asking all week to see a moose, but, you see, now we’re driving in the back woods of only You know where and it’s dark,the road is windy, and we don’t know where we are… and I like my car… and we are over nine hours away from home so… I really don’t want to see a moose right now…”

Do NOT get me started on the moose calls that started by the end of the week. I SERIOUSLY wanted to see a moose…

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in antlers, clock, clocks, Maine, moose, My First Blog, New England, pine cones, Tim Horton's, week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

