Another sleepless night in the kingdom

I have been taking ambien for about a year now. I finally succumbed to taking this controversial drug because I have battled insomnia for more than thirty years. It worked great and I had very little issues. However, I did notice some memory loss and I could not make any decisions after I took it each night because it essentially erases your memory. Scary, but I was coping. And getting sleep. So I kept taking it.

Then my health plan decided that too many people were taking it and they weren’t getting enough of the profits. So they changed the tier and upped the cost. It almost doubled. So I decided this was it–I was going to quit taking it and take over my sleep life.

I’ve always been an insomniac and most of it was caused by anxiety. I worried, like most women, about EVERYTHING. What I had to do, what I had done, what the result would be, etc. – everything. But lately, and since I’ve married my husband especially, I’ve become less anxiety ridden and feel more at peace overall. So, I reasoned, I could do this.

I further reasoned that God wanted me to do it. He wanted me to live an existence that relies on Him, not drugs – even prescription meds.

 

Therefore I tell you, do not worry<sup class="crossreference" value="(AC)”> about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.<sup class="crossreference" value="(AD)”> Are you not much more valuable than they?<sup class="crossreference" value="(AE)”> Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?<sup class="crossreference" value="(AF)”> “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor<sup class="crossreference" value="(AG)”> was dressed like one of these.  If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?<sup class="crossreference" value="(AH)”>  So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them…” Matthew 6: 25-32

So I gave them up. Cold turkey. My sleep has not been great, I’ll admit, but I KNOW in my heart God has a plan. This is just one small step in becoming the better me that He wants me to find. The healthier me. The stronger me. The FULFILLED me.

What are you struggling with? Do you not think that God will help you? Give it to Him today.

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in ambien, anxiety, Christian, drugs, God, Health, Matthew, My First Blog, peace, sleep, sleepless, woman. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

