When I Need A Healing…

Today I met with a new doctor. He talked to me like I was an actual person and not someone there to waste his time. I was astonished. When I left I felt empowered and like I could take on the world. He had encouraged me to break free from some medicine I had been taking and also pushed me to exercise harder to see better results. He said “You can do it” and I believed him. I vowed to work out harder and be at least ten pounds lighter at my next visit — 3 months away.

Because of the weather I chose to head home and not go to the gym, but I knew that I had to push myself once I got home to still exercise. We have a treadmill, an elliptical and a Wii at home – there was sure to be something to keep me moving.

I initially chose the Wii and did some dancing. There is nothing more liberating (or sweat inducing) than dancing, but I often don’t go “all out” when I am out in public. Not so in the comfort of my own home. I let it all out. And it felt good. I was letting go of pain, inhibitions and the fat.

After about an hour I decided to hit the treadmill too. The Wii is great, but it tends to exercise mostly your upper body due to the controller being held in your hand. And I had grown tired of the songs in the playlist and wanted to hear a few of my own. My legs felt sluggish and I wasn’t ready to quit listening to music. I hit my MP3 player and got moving again.

My favorite music flowed through the headphones and into my soul. I let it all out. Frustrations, hurt, laughter, joy, disappointments and triumphs came back to me through the words of every song.

Thirty minutes later I was spent. Sweat poured off of me and the music was blaring so loudly I thought maybe the neighbors would hear it!

I feel great. Sore, but great.

Let me share two song lyrics that really lifted me up during this time on the treadmill:
I’m bulletproof, nothing to lose, fire away, fire away, ricochet, you take your aim, fire away, fire away,  you shoot me down, but I won’t fall, I am titanium, you shoot me down, but I won’t fall, I am titanium. David Guetta (seriously – just say that to yourself “I am titanium.” You’ll feel better – I guarantee it.)

I’m a rough and tough, I’m a rough and tough, nothing’s gonna knock this girl down. No Doubt

When I need a healing, I just look up the the ceiling, I see the sun coming down, I know its all better now. Flo Rida

I’m bulletproof. Or at least today I feel like I am. And when I need a healing… I just have to look up.

Year of health continues – share your joy, struggles and triumphs with me! Let’s do this together!

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in empowerment, exercise, God, healing, Health, joy, laughter, letting go, medicine, Music, My First Blog, pushing, titanium, treadmill, Wii. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I Need A Healing…

  1. Susan Lower says:

    I'm excited to see what your going to do with your new blog. We've got a Wii too and EA Sports, but can't pry the kids off long enough to let Mom use it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

