Coming Full Circle

Several months ago I was on the path to weight loss, going to the gym regularly and hitting the workouts hard. I was feeling good and looking healthier than I had in years.

Then disaster struck: my hip went out and I had to quit working out altogether, be on pain meds and see a physical therapist and a chiropractor more than twice a week. I was out of commission.

Before this happened I loved doing Zumba once a week at our gym. The pulsating music would beat down my otherwise timid personality and I would become a dancing goddess (in my mind anyway). But due to the intense pain I couldn’t continue. I could barely use the treadmill at that point. My doctors told me I have a “twisted pelvis” (must have been Elvis’s issue too…) (and why not – everything else on me is twisted too.) so I thought I would never again get back to my beloved Zumba workout.

Until today.

I have been back to the gym for more than a month now and my workouts have slowly increased in intensity. I can do more and more and go for longer time periods once again. I take care of my hip and slow down anytime it seems to be going “too” well. I stretch more and quit at the first sign of any inflammation or ache that my body gives me. I have been rewarded with a 3 pound weight loss. But I want more.

Tonight I attempt to conquer Zumba again.

And I cannot wait. I’m anxious to get that music flowing through me and to have the days tension flow out.

Tomorrow I’ll let you know how I did. (If I survive!)

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in aches, chiropractor, conquer, conquering, exercise, fitness, gym, hurts, love, muscles, My First Blog, pains, physical therapy, workout, Zumba. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

