School Didn’t Teach Me This

Okay. How many of you are tired of me by now? I have 9 more days to blog in May! I’m going to conquer this!!

Today my assignment is: Things you’ve learned that school won’t teach you.

Seriously – there are SO many things. I think this is something, though, that if you took the right classes it is taught… But I was an art major so I didn’t have many of the classes I needed to truly succeed. (Or at least not have such a hard time in real life!)

One thing I wish I had been taught or had taken a class on was communication. I know this is taught just about everywhere and I did take at least one class, but it focused more on how to communicate to a larger audience – not one on one. I didn’t learn, until an insurance class offered it many years later, about different personality types and conflict avoidance procedures. Since having that class I’ve been much better at it. I still don’t communicate that well – I tend to not listen which is the real issue. (Can I get an “Amen!” on that one?)

I also wish there would have been a class on “check-book balancing” or “budgeting”. Of course there is math and all that, but I wish they were more specific, life-specific, type classes such as this. And I know a few other people who would benefit from this too. My father taught me the basics and I did pretty well on my own – I rarely bounced a check or had really low funds. Then I met my husband, who takes it to a whole new level. His budgeting and accounting procedures for our spending (ALL our spending – down to the last penny folks) is unreal – I truly think he should teach how he does it to young people. I think many young folks would really benefit from his way of doing it.

In fact, I think our government could benefit from his system too…

I’ve also learned things like “what truly is a friend” and “God loves me for me” – two really essential things that just don’t get taught in any school I know (except the God one – maybe Watsontown Christian Academy or other Christian schools teach that one.)

In reality we can’t know everything all at once. How would we grow? I look forward to learning more – I’m only 39 after all – there is so much more to learn! Life wouldn’t be as interesting if we knew it all, would it?

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in budget, growing, learn, learning, lessons, life lessons, My First Blog, school. teach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

