Words Can Harm and Heal

Today’s blog initiative: Something someone told you about yourself that you’ll never forget (good or bad)

I think since I’m trying to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing holiday weekend (and so are my readers) – I’m going to just list these.

“You try to get everyone to be like you.” Hurtful, and I didn’t think it was true. But it kind of is. I try now to recognize when I’m doing this. Even though it hurt at the time – it has helped me to make changes in my life that, I hope, are for the better.

“Look at that – a writer writing.” (I had never really been called a writer before this. I looked around to see who this person was referring to – it was me.) (This was Shirley Stevens at my first St Davids Christian Writers Conference – a good reason to register for this years if you haven’t already. Deadline is June 1. http://www.stdavidswriters.com/)

“It’s okay to get mad and not let people walk all over you. Jesus said to love one another, but even he turned over the vendors tables in anger.” A very wonderful and wise woman I know said this… she shows up in this blog a lot.

“Did you go to the gym today?” My ex asked me this every day. EVERY day – because he thought I was fat and if I didn’t go he would berate me for not going.

“You’re beautiful just the way you are.” My husband says this all the time. Wonder why I married him and not the last guy…

“You’re human. It’s okay.” Another wise woman I know – she shows up on these pages a lot too. This one she just said to me the other day. It’s good to have a friend like this in your life.

Tune in for one of my last May blogs tomorrow!

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in changes, confidence, God, hurtful, Jesus, love, My First Blog, SAD, word, words, writer, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

