Cooking Up Some Memories

I am blessed to have received my husband’s grandmother’s recipe boxes in the mail yesterday from my in-laws. I asked for these boxes so I could compile a cookbook from the recipes.

I love to cook and I am by the memories that revolve around certain recipes that are passed down through the generations and I want to know which ones had special meaning, which ones remind people of certain days and celebrations and now, I realized as I was looking through these recipes, how certain ones can help us remember our loved ones.

I have heard a LOT about how great a cook Grandma Fairchild was and it’s evidenced by how good her sons and many of her grandchildren can cook. I could not wait to get my hands on these recipes because I want to learn from her (even if it’s simply her writing) and because I want to make meals that my husband remembers and loves. (Also because he seems to have missed out on the cooking gene…)

Upon initial inspection here is what I have learned:

1) Grandma liked to please her kids and she had a big sweet tooth. There is a very uneven amount of cakes/cookies/pie/desserts recipes to vegetable recipes.

Maybe where her grandson got his love of sweets…
 

2) She understood that to be a good cook you had to learn from others. Okay, this is just my opinion, but here is why I think that. Many of her recipes give credit to other people that she obtained the recipe from. “From Hattie” or “Lori’s Meatloaf” – make me aware that she loved good food and she wasn’t too proud to ask someone for their recipe to help make herself a better cook. Something maybe we would have had in common. And she didn’t want to take credit – she made notes on each one that she got from someone else so everyone would know where it came from.

Me & Mom making my family’s “famous” sand tarts for Christmas.
A recipe handed down from my grandmother.
 
3) It’s not going to be an easy task putting this cookbook together. Some recipes only have ingredients listed – no directions at all. A good sign that she was such a good cook she didn’t need direction. And, I guess, we’ll figure it out too.
 
I can’t wait to get this project started, and to make a few of these recipes! I’ll keep you all posted on the progress.
About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Cook, cookbook, Cooking, family, Food, love, My First Blog, recipe, sweets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

