If I Could Turn Back Time… I Wouldn’t

I follow a Wordpress blog called The Daily Post. They give daily prompt’s like this one here. The purpose, I guess, is to stir up conversation and get bloggers… blogging when they’ve exhausted their own brain’s ideas. That’s me today and I saw this one:

If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

I’ve always said I wouldn’t want to go back in time. A lot of my past has been not so good bits and I don’t think I’d want to relive most of them now that I’ve gotten past them (many through lots of therapy.) I truly believe that the events in our lives spur us forward – good or bad. Every decision we make and every bad turn we take, puts us where we are now. If we didn’t go through those times, or experience those hurts, pains or even joys, we wouldn’t be in the now.

Lots of folks dwell too much in their past. They relive every tedious moment in their memory. Day by day it’s haunting them, causing them pain, and preventing them from taking steps forward. Or, their life now isn’t so great, and they relive better times. “Oh, the good old days!” Not many of us live in the now.

I did that for many years. After my fiance dumped me, I spent almost five years rehashing it to anyone who would listen. My relationships suffered. I lost friends. I sabotaged potential relationships. Because I couldn’t stop reliving it. Thank God, my now husband, was a patient sort. He listened. Over. And Over. And Over again. Until finally he asked me one day “Why does it matter? You have me now.”

Right. NOW. Living in the now means not turning back time. Remembering good and bad times are always useful – we can remember happy moments to give us joy and bad ones so we don’t do those things again. But actually turning back time and doing it all over… no thanks. I’d rather enjoy each and every minute I have right now.

For instance – I never used to be someone who would do something on the spur of the moment. I missed out a lot on wonderful opportunities. Living in the here and now pushes me to be more spontaneous. So when my god daughter’s mom called me the other day and told me she was having soccer practice that night it didn’t take me long to decide I was going. I don’t want to miss any opportunity in that little girl’s life if I can help it. She is already 5 (going on 15) and I feel like I miss too much already. I’m thankful that her mom and dad want my husband and I to be included. And later her mom told me that Miss Megan was very happy that “Sue came to see me.” *heart tripling in size*

Why would I pass that up?

But if I spent my time dwelling on past hurts and missed opportunities – I would miss other opportunities!

Let’s not do that. Let’s live in the now. Experience the joy you can have each and everyday of your life by just NOT turning back time. (Sorry Cher – now get OUT of my head!)

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

