Simple Snippets – Connecting to My Theme

Life and Happiness

I’ve been trying hard to create and maintain my “brand” or my “platform”, which are all silly words to just say that I need to have something that I stand for or that says “SUE”. Every good webinar tells you that it’s a MUST when you’re a blogger. I don’t think I’ve truly done it (maybe some followers can tell me otherwise), but I’ve built up a decent following none-the-less. I often look at other bloggers and think “How did they get so many followers so quickly!” Mine has been a steady rise, but I’ve stagnated a lot recently.

My blog has pretty much just been a random sampling of my daily life, my religion, and the things that I find interesting. It’s a “simple snippet” based blog on my life in general. Sometimes it isn’t that interesting and, sometimes, I think it is. I have a few followers to prove that point, but not as many as I’d like. I’ve tried commenting on other bloggers posts, following a bunch more bloggers (you follow me – I’ll follow you mentality… which doesn’t work FYI), and tried a bunch of other ideas I’ve seen on a multitude of webinars on the subject.

I figured out that I wasn’t really connecting my “Simple Snippet” idea on all my other social media. I often post about a variety of things – from my pooch to my hubby and all the craziness in between on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, but it’s just that – a variety. I even throw food in there sometimes. So I was brainstorming about how I could connect my blog to my social media better.

Recently I started doing a fun thing on my Twitter page: I periodically give out “Sue’s Simple Snippets” about that day in history. For instance, this was one of my Tweets on Wednesday: Sue’s Simple Snippet: Today in history (1826) The Eggnog Riot http://ow.ly/F5kF9 #weirdbuttrue #oddfacts TWEET THIS!

It’s a cute way to add some fun to my Twitter posts as well as to connect back to my overall theme of my blog (Simple Snippets of life). Plus, I’m learning history! LOL It’s gimmicky, but I like it and perhaps it’ll interest a few new followers.

(I think I should probably start narrowing it down to be more specific historical facts that pertain better to who I am and what I stand for though… perhaps more Christian centered facts or facts about editing and writing.)

For now, I’m trying hard to find myself and build my “brand.”

What about you? Do you know who you are and what you’re attempting to put into the universe? Tell me how you’ve built your brand and what tips you can offer in the comments below.

And follow me on Twitter  to see more interesting Simple Snippets!

Leave a Reply

