Monday Morning Book Reviews

Struggling for a topic for this Monday blog I decided to do a few book reviews for some various novels I’ve recently completed. (Please note: I am not getting paid by any of the authors nor do I have an financial investment in these pieces. In most cases I stumbled upon them and just had something to say – good or bad.) Here are four I read recently that span a few different genres. As you can see – I don’t really have one specific type of book that I like to read – all good writing is worth reading!

I’m currently reading In Between (A Katie Parker Production) by Jenny B. Jones. This is a Young Adult (or YA) and I’m really starting to get into this genre. They are usually lighthearted, fun and easy to read. This one is no exception. And it’s currently (as of Sunday, February 8th, 2015) FREE for Kindle! I’m breezing right through this book, but it isn’t boring. The characters are well written and not stereo-typed – which I appreciate and the writing is stellar – which I also appreciate. I see by her Amazon page that she has other novels… I’m going to look into that.

A Head Full of Knives by Luke Smitherd… okay. I didn’t get this one. It’s pretty messed up. Just when you think you know where this one is going – it goes another way. There were a lot of deep, weird ideas going on in this work. I tried my best to keep up with it, but I struggled. I did finish it, but it was kind of like the last Matrix  movie… I have no idea what happened or what it was about.

The Fruitcake Bride by Susan Lower. DISCLAIMER: Susan is my friend. She’s in my writer’s group and I helped edit and critique this book. BUT It’s still a damn good book and I highly recommend you read it for the low price of 99 cents because, to be honest, she’s got more books lined up (like her new one Forgotten Reins, which comes out soon) and you should get on this bandwagon now while her prices are so low. This is a short, Christmas novella and any romantic will love it.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

This deal ends today!

 

I recently finished Without a Trace: The Rock Harbor Series by Colleen Coble – what a good book! Normally I can kind of guess who the murderer is in a lot of these books – they follow a formula after all and there is a lot of foreshadowing, etc., etc., but I was really into this book. I’m anxious to read more from this author and with these characters. I was in tears by the end – the author really paints a nice word picture and makes the reader care a lot about the small town folk in her book.

So there you have it – four books for a variety of reading tastes for you to check out. If you have read one of these, or another good book, lately please let me know in the comments! I’m always looking for more awesome reads!

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

