False Motivation

I’ve been seeing a lot of those “motivational” posters popping up on Facebook more and more. Some are quite good and even… well, motivational. But some… they just don’t come from a good place. Some I look at and think, “What was this person thinking?”

In our modern, sound-bite society we often seek out little tidbits of good news that we can share with others. But too frequently we share items that don’t have a whole lot of truth – or that can, perhaps, lead us down the wrong path.

Take this for example:

Hm… now let’s think about this one. “Life doesn’t allow us to go back and fix what we’ve done”… I disagree. Life DOES allow us to do that – do you know how? With apologies and forgiveness. If you some something harmful to someone isn’t it true that you could go back and say, “I’m sorry. What I said was wrong. Will you forgive me?”

Take a look at 2 Corinthians 2:10-11: “When you forgive this man, I forgive him, too. And when I forgive whatever needs to be forgiven, I do so with Christ’s authority for your benefit,  so that Satan will not outsmart us. For we are familiar with his evil schemes.” (NLT)

To suggest that forgiveness is not something we can and should partake in is just part of the devil’s schemes. Christ forgives and so should we. We CAN go back.

Here’s another “good” one:

Hmm… I really don’t like this one either. You know why? In a subversive way it’s saying that weeping is bad. Crying is bad. You’ll be alone if you’re sad. I don’t agree. There would not be support groups of all different varieties all across this nation if no one wanted to weep with you. It’s simply untrue and tries to create a “Buck Up” mentality that I don’t agree with. People need to let their emotions out. People need to occasionally weep.

Do you know the shortest verse in the Bible? “Jesus Wept.” (John 11:35) Even Jesus took time to weep. And guess what? He was weeping WITH Mary – so she was not alone in her weeping either. I get what it’s trying to do here, but it’s simply untrue and creates a false standard that people strive to live up to.

Last, but certainly not least, there is this:

Well Buddha. I don’t believe what you’re saying. If you believe nothing you ever read or hear…where does your own common sense come from? Where does your reasoning come from? You would not have any. I prefer this one:

Proverbs 3:5

You see, I’m not so proud that I would not believe what others say… however, I will investigate and research the truth of my own accord before I follow like sheep.

So before you repost that motivational quote next time, do a little research, search your own heart and your own truth to know if it’s something that you really believe in… or just something someone else believes in.

For then “You will know the truth, and the truth shall set you free.” John 8:32 NIV

 

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness, Religion, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

