Is the end near?

Fears, Life and Happiness, Religion

Last night, like many of you, I learned of the riots going on in Baltimore. It seems like more and more this is becoming a commonplace occurrence and I decided I just needed to write *something* about it.

I try not to express all my opinions here and I play it safe most of the time to avoid controversy. I’m Christian and I believe in peace.

With all that said… I still didn’t really know what to write, but I wanted to write. I wanted to get out my frustration, my anger and my sadness.

Then our pastor spoke to us about a passage from 2 Timothy 3:

“But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power. Have nothing to do with such people.”

I came home and read that verse. And then found this is verse 9: “But they will not get very far because, as in the case of those men, their folly will be clear to everyone.”

I also read an article this week about how the church is offending people by not being loving enough, not being forgiving enough and, oddly, for both having TOO much to offer (with our fancy praise bands – which my church actually does not have) and also not ENOUGH (because the church speaks in a dusty language that is too antiquated.) (So are we supposed to be hip with the praise band or old and curmudgeonly with our “dusty” words?) (Read it for yourself here.)

This person didn’t write this to actually tell the church what they were doing wrong. He wrote this piece to get a rise out of people. (It worked for me…) He did it because he probably has been hurt by a church in his lifetime and, perhaps, never truly loved in a way like God loves. Sadly, he’s never been to a church that expresses God’s love in the way that they should (or maybe just not in a way HE thinks they should.) He thinks he’s right in his rash and conceited way. But it’s really just a generalization. And he did it in an unforgiving and unloving manner – exactly what he is accusing the church of being.

2 Timothy is coming to fruition. People are lovers of themselves – not God. They care more about their money, their “bling,” their status and their proud, boastful moments than they do about anything else. They are without love, forgiveness, self-control and are BRUTAL to one another.

Don’t like what I have to say? Well, just go ahead and yell obscenities at me or, for that matter, just shoot me. That’s the answer now isn’t it? Isn’t that how it works now? That’s how it worked this weekend in a local bar.

Don’t like that I hate abortions because I think it is the killing of an innocent life? Oh well. Let’s not just agree to disagree. Let’s get into a fist fight instead. Or a shootout.

Think that, because I’m white, I don’t have any love or compassion for a black person? Well, I guess that gives you the right to throw a garbage can at me. Without even ASKING me first my true opinions.

So much for peaceful protesting…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=st4IHokD4Jc

Posted by Bmore Around Town on Saturday, April 25, 2015

Do you think this world will heal and be able to move forward when there is this kind of hate in the world? The people of this world are becoming treacherous, brutal individuals … gee, where have I heard that before?

I have friends in Baltimore. Friends with children who are just trying to live a nice, peaceful, normal life. They were only several blocks from the riots. My friend was working in his garage, with his little son assisting him, just trying to have a normal life. He had no idea there was anything even going on at the time. No cause to think, “I should keep my child inside today.” He had no clue, that only blocks away people were being beaten just for being at the wrong place at the wrong time. For being a couple of blocks closer than he was.

Fortunately, the riots did not come to his neighborhood.

But what if they had? When does it stop?

Consider some of these last words of the Bible: See, I am coming soon, and I will bring My reward with Me. I will pay back every person according to the deeds he has done. Rev. 22: 12

What deeds will you get your reward from? Wouldn’t you rather be remembered for your love and not your hate?

Stepping off my soapbox now… I return you back to your regularly scheduled riot…

5 thoughts on “Is the end near?

  1. Kudos to you for getting that out! We should all start living the song, “They’ll Know We Are Christians by our Love.” The whole idea of loving people SEEMS to have fallen by the wayside because love and good deeds don’t make good news shows, or so some people think, but the love is out there. If people focus more on the good things we do for each other, then the LOVE will spread, instead of all the hate that gets media attention. Thank you for this post.

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I was so concerned I would make more people angry. It’s sad that we can’t seem to even speak our minds without offending someone and being called a hater. It’s not my goal – my goal is to love, be loved and find love. Thank you.

      1. It is a shame that it is so difficult to have an open and friendly dialog even if you happen to disagree. Hate doesn’t get people to change their minds and feelings on any subject.

  2. Thanks for sharing your honest thoughts.

    One thing I would like to add to the mention of the demonstrations in Baltimore on Saturday – because that is what it was, a rally, a demonstration, not a riot – is that people were demonstrating against yet another murder of an unarmed black citizen. The behavior of those who chose to turn it into something less positive, shouldn’t be the focus. Unfortunately, it seems that is what gets attention of the media and thus other Americans whom are otherwise silent about what’s been going on. Not the number of black bodies piling up, but the aftermath. People seem to have more ire for destruction of vehicles and storefronts than systemic murder of human beings.

    I saw that tweet go around and it bothered me because it’s purposefully divisive and meant to scare people. It showed one instance of someone behaving badly – almost as though to justify the murder of blacks like we’re all hateful and deviant because look! they’re throwing trash at white people – instead of showing all the other black people peacefully demonstrating alongside white people – all there mourning and trying to garner attention so that something will finally be done to fix a broken system, not to damage neighborhoods and harm people.

  3. I wish we would see those peaceful protests. I wish we would also have our eyes open to all the good that police, fire and emergency professionals do as well. You’re right – it doesn’t make for good “news” anymore. It’s sad. And I think it makes how we all act towards one another worse. I want you to know that I respect you and that I am worried about everything that goes along with these events – from beginning to end. I posted this because of all the events I’ve been seeing on TV, on the internet and that I’ve heard from friends in law enforcement. It got to me – the inhumanity of it all. I’m sorry if I didn’t demonstrate that here. This event started with a man dying – and we’re not sure, completely, why (mostly because we weren’t there). I don’t know how to fix that. I wish I did. If it were my son or husband, I would want to know why. I would want answers. I see both sides – I truly, honestly do. I just wish we, as a society, didn’t just assume, but, instead, tried to figure it out in love. Until then – it will not get better. Thanks for your comments. It brought another level to this discussion and I appreciate it.

    PS – There are white people in the video I included that are behaving just as badly – I chose it because it showed everything escalating to a point that it did not need to with everyone involved. I’m sorry if it offended you.

Leave a Reply

