Mini Post Monday

Life and Happiness, Writing

Last Thursday morning I got up as I do every day before and set about my work day from home. Sometimes it gets a bit tedious and I’ve found myself straying a bit from God, my morning devotionals and also from taking care of myself. So before I dug into my work, I decided to take a walk with my pup. Many times I get too busy and don’t get proper exercise in my day so I wanted to be sure I accomplished it this time. I dug out my headphones, pulled up the music on my phone and set out. I have a set playlist that I really love on my phone (Pitbull, Iggy Azalea, One Republic, JLo, Jessie J… tunes to get you moving), but that morning I thought, “No, I’m going to try out some of my old tunes.” Boy was I happy I did! I listened to ABBA, Garth Brooks (I’m kind of on a kick since we saw him last weekend in concert!), Michael Buble, and even Selah (who sang our wedding song: Blessed the Broken Road). My step had some pep baby! Max and I ended up walking almost an hour around town and I felt energized, awake and inspired. I had two blog ideas come to me (for my A to Z Challenge – if you want to join in check it out!) and even encouraged to work more on my short fiction novel (which I hope to publish within the next month or so!)

Sometimes it’s good to break out of your comfort zones, get out into nature, and loosen up a bit.

********************

This past weekend was one of my favorites. It was my 6th Wedding Anniversary (which included dinner out at a new restaurant- pay attention – I might do a review!) and Mother’s Day. I got a small cake from a local bakery that was a replica of our wedding cake – lemon cake with raspberry preserve filling – and we celebrated our marriage by just trying to spend some time with one another. I got to spend my time with loved ones just enjoying love and each other. We also spent some time with friends by a nice outdoor fire, chatted about the ups and downs of our lives, sipped a few tasty drinks and relaxed under the warm May evening. It doesn’t get better than that.

********************

One last thing: If you’re a writer and are looking for an awesome conference to attend, meet some nice people, and hone your skills across the board – check out the St. Davids Christian Writers’ Conference in Grove City, PA (near Pittsburgh – very close to Ohio!) This conference really has something for everyone – fiction, children’s writers, non-fiction, how to get contracts, how to self-publish and includes terrific fellowship and time with real authors, editors and publishers to share ideas and get your foot in the door. You won’t regret signing up for this all-inclusive conference! Hope to see you there!

Check back this Wednesday for my 2nd guest blogger! You’re going to love her!

Have a great Monday!

You can also find me on Twitter @suefair48 and don’t forget to check out my Facebook page (I have two actually – here’s the other one!)

Leave a Reply

