Wisdom from the Word Wednesday – Prayer

Recently I read a short blog that talked about prayer and when was the proper time to pray.  (For the life of me I cannot remember who the blogger was or find it in my Twitter feed – if it’s you please let me know. I hate not to give credit, but I can’t find it again!) So many times we hear folks talk about prayer in the morning, “To get my day off right,” they say. I agree, but it just doesn’t seem to be working out for me. I’ve tried and tried and tried to get my mind prayer focused in the morning, but I get out of bed and I’m off and running instead.

I’ve been beating myself up for weeks because I couldn’t make this morning prayer ritual happen. I struggled to plant my body in the seat, read a portion of the Bible and the pray. But, to be honest, the Bible and prayer time were really not meaningful. I think it was because I was desperately trying to force myself into time with God. I do believe we all need reflection time with God in our lives and time spent in His word – I’m working out when I have time for those things and am trying to put them FIRST in my day/life. It’s not easy. So many other duties rob us of our time. And we are easily led away from the word and time spent with God.

Then I read this blog post. Basically she indicated that she also doesn’t do the morning prayer thing, but she finds other times to pray. She finds time (and acknowledges this time) at other parts of the day/night. Some days those really deep reflective times don’t happen and other days they are some of the most meaningful moments of the week.

What a brilliant thought! We all don’t have to have the same prayer lives. We don’t all need to pray at the same time of day! But what we NEED to do is find that time to truly connect with the Lord. And whatever way we find to do that – it’s a good thing.

Luke 18:1 – “Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.”

1 Thessalonians 5:17 – “Pray continually…”

Philippians 4:6 – “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”

There is no schedule for prayer. God wants us to come to Him – in any hour.

Here are a few suggestions for multiple times in your day that you can take to pray:

  • Pray before getting out of bed – I take a few minutes now each morning before my feet even hit the floor (because once I am up it’s “go, Go, GO!”) to say a word or two to the Lord. Sometimes it’s, “Please help me get out of bed,” and sometimes a certain person will come to mind for the day – maybe someone having surgery or mourning the loss of a loved one. These are quick prayers, but they connect me with God almost immediately in my day. When my feet do hit the floor – I feel like I have Him by my side.
  • Pray in the shower – Take a moment to enjoy the water and that minute or two of silence. Give God thanks for the water – some people do not have it – or the soap, your beautiful home or for those few minutes of solitude (especially if you have kids!)
  • Pray in your car – (Please don’t close your eyes!) While driving, speak out loud to the Father. You’re most likely alone in the car – you can pour your heart out to Him and ask for prayer of any kind.
  • Pray before meals – Thanking God for the food set before you (no matter how large or small) is a great act of gratitude.
  • If you get a prayer request, stop what you’re doing and prayer right then and there. No matter what you’re doing – stop and pray.
  • Pray when you get back in bed at night – I like to read before going to sleep, but I have a few devotion books by my bed and sometimes I read those first and then say a prayer or two before snuggling in with another book.

Can you see that if you integrate prayer into parts of your day, you can actually be speaking to God MORE than just for a small portion? For me, I’ve found this to connect me to Him on deeper levels. It’s like I’m talking to a friend.

For me, I’d like to know His word on a deeper level too so I’m working to find ways to incorporate that into my day too. I want my connection to God to be as easy as breathing – something I just do naturally every day.

How about you? What are some of your tips for incorporating prayer and time with God into your life?

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness, Religion, Wisdom From The Word Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

