Can we find hope?

It’s been a week of loss in my closest circles. My cousin has posted about at least four people in her life that have recently passed away or lost family in just the last few weeks. Our borough manager (someone who was both beloved and hated within the community) unexpectedly passed away this week as well. Then on last night’s Real Housewives of the OC, one of the main characters suddenly lost her mother. She said, “I don’t know why people have to die.”

I don’t either. I miss my grandmother so very much. I miss my husband’s grandfather each and every time John has a family gathering. My dad misses his dad even though his death was more than twenty years ago. My mother misses her father as deeply today as she did when he died in the 60’s.

Loss is inevitable, but we often wonder – why does it need to happen? Why did God include death and suffering? We often get angry at God for the loss of a loved one and it’s difficult for us to wait to see that loved one again in heaven (if they are saved.)

I have to admit – I have no clue about suffering and death. It’s just part of life on this fallen planet. It’s one of those things that I will ask God when I get to heaven.

But take heart! Because the Bible says, And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away. (Rev. 21:4 NKJV) 

Those of us who had received and accepted salvation can look forward to this time. I know right now, for all these recent losses, it is not that comforting. However, we must hold on to something.

For all those who have lost loved ones this week – I’m sorry. I pray that you will once again see your loved ones in heaven and I pray that God will comfort you during this time.

 

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness, Religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

