U is for…

Uncategorized

We’re nearing the end of our revised A to Z Challenge! I can’t believe I’m on U already, but as I contemplated this letter, I realized nothing stood out to me that started with the letter U. Of course there are a lot of words that begin with U, so I took to the dictionary to find a few in hopes it would spark something.

What I decided on was a list of Unusual U words that you might not have heard before.

Uxorious – excessively fond of or submissive to a wife.

Apparently, this word was used in the most recently popular novel, Gone Girl.  I didn’t read it so I’ll let you tell me. In addition, Helen Mirren is reported to have said it’s a trait she most admires in a man.

Ukase – a proclamation by a Russian emperor or government having the force of law or an edict.

Basically, this is an order from a dictator… some have called the Affordable Health Care Act a ukase.

Ultimo – of or occurring in the month preceding the present

It is also the name of a fictional giant robot in the Marvel Comics universe who fights Iron Man. I like Iron Man so, therefore, I do not like Ultimo much like I do not like to dwell in the past which seems to be the real definition of this word.ultimo

Umbel – a racemose inflorescence typical of the carrot family in which the pedicels arise from about the same point to form a flat or rounded flower cluster. (There’s a mouthful.)

Ever seen Queen’s Anne Lace? That’s an umbel.

umbel 16-queen-annes-lace-purple-flower

Unguent – a soothing or healing salve

1 John 2:20 – But ye have an unction from the Holy One, and ye know all things. (KJV) – The Holy Spirit is an “anointing unguent” for our souls. (Jamieson-Fausset-Brown Bible Commentary). Also spoken by the bad guy in the movie, Fargo, when bitten by his victim.

Now I hope I’ve expanded your vocabulary today and encouraged you to find some Unusual U words of your own!

One thought on “U is for…

Leave a Reply

