X is for… phobias?

Okay, we’re nearing our A to Z Challenge and I admit – X is a hard one. I’m curious as to what my friends will come up with on this one for sure. If you’ve written an X blog (or X-Files blog?) share it with me so I can get some ideas for next time!

I did a quick search of some X words and there are actually a lot of them. Weirdly, many of them deal with the color yellow. I’m guessing it’s some Latin derived term (if you know please share!) But as I perused all the options, not knowing what more than half meant, I thought to myself, “These look like weird phobias!”

A light bulb went off in my head: “How many phobias start with the letter ‘x’?”

Let’s explore!

Xanthophobia

The fear of the color yellow or the word yellow.

FYI – Xanthophobia derives from the Greek word “xanthous”, meaning yellow and “phobos” which means fear. So that answers that…I’m glad we got that out of the way. No daffodils for you.

Xenoglossophobia

The fear of foreign languages.

I don’t have a fear of foreign languages. I am just not good at them. Or accents. Just ask my husband.

Xenophobia

The fear of foreigners or strangers.

Wikipedia defines it as: the dislike of that which is perceived to be foreign or strange. Xenophobia can manifest itself in many ways involving the relations and perceptions of an ingroup towards an outgroup, including a fear of losing identity, suspicion of its activities, aggression, and desire to eliminate its presence to secure a presumed purity. 

I guess, based on my limited research, this would almost be a synonym for racism. Ku Klux Klan members probably mostly have this phobia. Hitler certainly did too.

Xerophobia

The fear of dryness and dry places like deserts.

I would have thought this one was fear of the copier… (You young kids probably don’t get that joke.)

Xylophobia

The fear of forests or wooden objects.

This one was even mentioned in a “Simpsons” episode where Lisa mistakenly thought it was a fear of xylophones. Which kind of makes sense… aren’t they made from wood? I worry about the person who has a fear of trees AND of the desert… where would they live?

Xyrophobia

The fear of razors.

I would like to warn you ahead of time. Do NOT Google this term. Or at least do NOT look at the images that come up when you Google this term. Yikes. Now I’m a xyrophobe.

In all seriousness, each of these is a very serious phobia and not to be taken lightly (even though I did a bit). If you have any of these conditions, you should seek out counseling because many of them come from a deep psychological fear probably stemming from a traumatic event in your life. Seek help to rid yourself of these phobias so that you may live a life free from these anxieties.

We only have 2 more letters to go! Stick with me until the end of this challenge – who knows what else I’ll come up with!

Remember to follow me on Twitter and sign up by email over there (and scroll up a bit) ——> and receive my posts in your inbox!

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Fears, Life and Happiness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to X is for… phobias?

  1. Meghan Sara says:

    Totally got your xerox joke! I think xylophones are made out of metal generally, but can be made out of hollowed-out wood for like an earthier sound? Found you through #SundayBlogShare on Twitter!!

Leave a Reply

