Being Thankful – Keeping it 100

Life and Happiness

My grandmother told me a long time ago that the thing she hated the most was when someone lied. As I get older, I’m finding that I, too, have come to appreciate honesty, real honesty, in people. I don’t like to be lied to and it’s probably one of my biggest pet peeves. I wish I could ask my grandmother if she meant that she liked it when people “kept it 100.”

Now, if you’re of an older generation (like just slightly past my own), maybe you don’t know what this slang means. Urban Dictionary defines it as this: To tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth. AKA “Keep it Real” or be honest with yourself as well as others.

And today, that’s what I’m thankful for: people keeping it 100.

We all have had times when we didn’t keep it 100. Maybe it was telling someone you were having a good day when you weren’t. Maybe it was telling someone they didn’t look fat in an outfit. Or maybe it was even faking the big O. All things to not hurt the people in your life with the truth.

keep-it-100_percent-tee-design1

I get that. I’ve done it.

But I’m learning to truly appreciate the times when people do keep it truthful with me – even if it sometimes hurts.

Not too long ago, I wrote a chapter for my work in progress (WIP) and brought it to my critique group. So often I wonder if they are really telling me the truth about my work because, to keep it 100, I don’t often feel like my work is that great. Although they give me feedback, very frequently, they make very few comments. But on this particular night, they let me have it. What I had written wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t on the mark and it wouldn’t make sense related to my WIP. It was hard to hear – basically everything I’d written needed to be scraped – but in the end, I rewrote it and it came out better than the first.

I’m thankful that I have a group like this in my life that will make those hard comments even when they know it’ll hurt because they love me enough to want to see me succeed.

All too often people tell each other, “It’s okay,” when it really isn’t.

We too frequently say, “I’m praying for you,” when we’re not.

And it’s the norm to say, “I’m good,” even when we aren’t.

Yes, it’s fine to try to avoid hurting someone, but I’m truly thankful for people who don’t just say, “I’m praying for you,” but they actually just do it. I have two or three friends who will stop what they are doing and either pray with me or type out a prayer and send it to me when I need it. And one of these same friends also doesn’t try to fix it when things are going bad. Instead, they’ve said to me, “I can’t fix it. But let’s pray.”

How honest, truthful and refreshing it is! And I think so many things in our lives would be better if we could just say that to one another on a daily basis. If we could just “keep it 100.”

So, today, I’m thankful for keeping it 100. And that means this:

  1. I don’t know how to solve everything
  2. I can’t fix everything
  3. I’m just as lost as you are
  4. I’m hurting just like you are
  5. God still loves me (and you)
  6. With Him we can get through anything

Think about these things the next time you tell that little “white lie” – instead, keep it 100.

 

Leave a Reply

