Lacking Encouragement

Life and Happiness, Social Media

The other day a friend sent me a chain letter by email. I don’t normally respond, but it seemed so simple and the goal was to send encouragement to others. There were two listed names and emails and the request was to send ONE note of encouragement to the first person on the list. Then you copied the email and sent it off to others, moving your name up to the top of the list.

Easy.

Or so I thought.

In this day and age, I find it’s so important to encourage one another. We’re all facing so much… CRAP. Cancer is rampant, ISIS is out to kill us, and everywhere we turn we face negatives in our life. I was more than happy to send the first person on my list a passage from the Psalms.

The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid? (Psalm 27:1)

I was so ready to receive a few notes of encouragement myself in my inbox. After all, I kind of needed it. Christmas isn’t meaning the same thing to me this year, I’ve been depressed and in need of some uplifting moments. So I eagerly awaited at least ONE tidbit of hope from my friends.

You know what I got?

“I’m not going to do this. Sorry.”

“20 names are too many for me to come up with.”

“I don’t know how to do this.”

Not ONE SINGLE PERSON did it. Not one. I didn’t even get, “Sorry, I can’t do this, but I hope you have a great day.” Or, “Here is one bit of encouragement for you even though I’m too busy to do the whole thing.”

58703281

Nada. Nothing. Zilch.

Are we simply too busy to just give a word of hope to someone? A simple “You are awesome”? Are we so immersed in our own mindless crap that we can’t reach out to a single person. I know it’s difficult. I’ve been swallowed up myself in a bit of self pity, but it actually felt good to ME to send that bit of encouragement to someone else. It reminded ME that God is my stronghold and I shouldn’t be afraid. It helped ME.

Now I’m actually more discouraged. SO. I decided to write this blog. Not to shame anyone. Not to make anyone feel badly. I want us to ENCOURAGE ONE ANOTHER. Come on. You can do it. Comment below with a word of encouragement. Or tell me about someone you DID encourage today.

Restore my faith in humanity. I could use some encouragement. Will you leave me hanging?

 

25 thoughts on “Lacking Encouragement

  1. God Bless you and your family, Sue.
    I really appreciated all your help with the
    family history.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
    Ruth

  2. I am encouraged by some of your snippets, whether they be funny, heartwarming or serious. So my encouragement to you is “Keep up the good work” ! Your doing more than you possibly know!!

  3. You are an encouragement to me. You lift me up with your blog posts. I want to wish you a very Merry Christmas and many blessing in the coming year!!!! 🙂

  4. Hi, Sue! I got your e-mail and did it! Got one thank you from the person I sent the encouragement to and nothing back. It’s probably safe to assume that my twenty people didn’t participate or even tell me that they didn’t want to. You have been a great inspiration to me, Sue. The fact that that you are living your dream of being a writer is just awesome and gives me great hope that someday I may be able to as well. Merry Christmas!

    1. Thank you Mary. I’m so glad I wrote this post. I was worried people would be upset, but I received so much affirmation instead. God’s grace. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  5. You sent important words of Truth given directly by God. They are capable to hit the mark, no matter how people may have responded. I understand you’re discouragement – every post takes a bit of our courage. The source of your greatest encouragement saw your light. in lak’ech, Debra

  6. In moments of discouragement, and problems that seem to walk through my front door without so much as a knock or doorbell ring, I like to think of the phrase, “This too shall pass”.
    It encourages me to think that although there are mountains and valleys in life, and we have to pass through the valleys to continue our mountain climbs, that we can pass through – we don’t need to ‘stop and pitch a tent and stay there’.
    It’s disheartening that so few can take the time to offer words of encouragement these days – I see it often. But thank YOU for the encouragement in your post – because it’s encouraging to know that YOU DO take the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

