This week’s rant – be forewarned

DISCLAIMER: This post contains some graphic words and discusses a very real and very sick current event. You can chose not to read it, choose to say, “No, I’ll remain ignorant” or you can read on, suck it up and be part of a solution.

************************************************

I didn’t want to write about this. I try not to get into politics and I keep my opinions mainly to myself (or at least only to my tight-knit group of friends), but I simply can’t let this one go.

Do you know Brock Turner? I’m surprised if you don’t by now. He’s the man who was accused and convicted of raping an intoxicated young woman after a Stanford party. Behind a dumpster. While she was UNCONSCIOUS. And his jail sentence? SIX MONTHS. Six lousy, measly months for sexually assaulting an unconscious woman. Do you know why? Because he’s an all-star swimming athlete and it might “have a severe impact on him.”

EXCUSE ME?

I’m not sure where to even start with this dialogue – I am THAT angry.

First – read her letter outlining her side of the events. Then come back to me. I’ll wait.

Second – how did that make you feel? I felt violated myself after reading her account. I felt like crying, shouting at the world… feel like finding Brock and exacting my own justice on him. How…HOW can a man do this? What are we teaching our children? I’ll tell you what Brock’s dad taught him. His father asked the judge for probation saying his son had already “paid a steep price… for 20 minutes of action.”

WHAT?! Do you want to know what I think the price should be? CASTRATION.

A part of her letter outlines what we should actually be teaching our children:

According to him, the only reason we were on the ground was because I fell down. Note; if a girl falls help her get back up. If she is too drunk to even walk and falls, do not mount her, hump her, take off her underwear, and insert your hand inside her vagina. If a girl falls help her up. If she is wearing a cardigan over her dress don’t take it off so that you can touch her breasts. Maybe she is cold, maybe that’s why she wore the cardigan. If her bare ass and legs are rubbing the pinecones and needles, while the weight of you pushes into her, get off her.

Seems simple doesn’t it? Seems… normal.  And, yet, we don’t seem to be teaching this to our children. Otherwise, why would Brock have committed such a heinous act?

I can’t leave out that they were both drunk. It seems like a little bit of information to me though. It doesn’t seem like enough to let him off the hook with only six months. He’s still responsible for his actions. ALL his actions. Despite the fact that he’s a white, privileged, all-star athlete – he’s still a rapist.

Did you know that Bernie Madoff got 150 years for bilking people out of billions of dollars? JUST for taking people’s money. Brock took this woman’s safety, her sexuality and her self-esteem. Al Capone served seven years for tax evasion and prohibition. Years. For not filing his taxes correctly. Brock got six MONTHS. For some wealthy folks, six months is a vacation.

I can only continue to say, “Why?” In this country, I’m scared to be a woman. In many people’s eyes, I can’t drink too much, I can’t dress too “sexy,” I can’t “act inappropriately” around the opposite sex and, if I don’t specifically say the word “NO” – it might be my fault if I’m raped.

This logic is flawed and we must STOP. It is the responsibility of all of us: parents, friends, family, lawyers, judges, and the criminal system in general to stop this. (How do these lawyers and judge sleep at night?)

Do you sometimes wonder why it seems younger people don’t have any sense of responsibility anymore? Because when the law of the land says, “His life is more important than the life of his victim,” we fail to make people responsible for their actions. When the focus is on the woman who may have drank too much, our system is flawed. Do we say, “Oh those people got what they deserved when Dahmer killed them.”? I don’t think so.

I implore you to share this and other articles about this event. Make Brock Turner the object of your scorn. Make him a pariah. Shout his name across this nation to let others know we will not let this be our legacy. I pray he never swims again. I pray he turns his life to the Lord and repents from his evil ways. And I pray that women all over the world will speak up against men like him. This will not be our final say. We will no longer be ordered to be strong women led by weak, sadistic and chauvinistic-minded men. We will not shrink into the darkness of the night and fear the lives of our daughters. Who’s with me?

Rant over. For now.

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Fears, Life and Happiness, Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This week’s rant – be forewarned

  1. Debra says:

    I am incredibly incensed that people are concerned about Turner’s swimming scholarship, yet have no sympathy for this brave, young woman who was defiled.

    This is not a new problem. Colleges all over the U.S. have brushed campus rapes under the rug for fear of diminished enrollment. And, as usual, a lot of them go unreported because the women are always being led to believe it is somehow their fault. The shame and guilt of being in the wrong place at the wrong time. FORCED sex is never OK – especially on the unconscious!

    Turner’s father is also the problem. I understand standing by your children, but clearly you have to, at some point, recognize that your star swimming athlete son did something horribly wrong. Painting the victim as some drunk whore will not change the fact that she was attacked in a most vicious, unconsenting, vile way. He knew exactly what he was doing. If not, then why did he run away when caught?

    I welcome the day when women can begin to believe they are of equal footing to men. That we are not thought of as lesser human beings or disposable objects simply for men’s amusement. But sadly, not much progress has been made in this belief because poor behavior, even murder, is diminished depending on whether or not a championship or scholarship is at stake. And what kind of message is this sending to our youth? It’s okay. Don’t take responsibility for your actions. And even if you do, it will be glossed over because somehow your actions were justified.

Leave a Reply

