Mini Post Monday: What I’m Reading

Life and Happiness

Happy Monday all. I hope your weekend was fun and not too stressful. My hubby and I have entered into a new Saturday routine that consists of exercise, study, work and quiet time. Although he thinks I’m upset because he’s studying so much it’s actually giving me more time to write and read.

Right now, I’m reading a book called “Murphy’s Luck” by Benjamin Laskin. Although the story is decent and quirky, the head hopping and other proofreading issues have my head spinning. I’m ready to finish it out and start on something more classic.

A couple of weeks ago, my in-laws brought a stack of books from Nebraska that used to be my hubby’s (or his sister’s… Kathy, if you’re reading this, you can have them when I’m done!) I was intrigued by the titles and can’t wait to dig into some of them.

20160722_161108.jpg

(Do you like the sunspot I added to this pic? Shouldn’t all books glow like that? Can you hear the angels singing?)

On top is a work containing “Great American Short Stories.” They are terrific for someone short on time. One day last week while hubby was studying, I took that one out on the porch and started to read. I immediately became immersed in Rip Van Winkle and Young Goodman Brown. Oh, how writing has changed! Even though I knew the story of Rip Van Winkle, I still got lost in the magical story. (By the way, if you like this kind of story, check out my friend, Carrie’s book The Mermaid’s Sister. You WON’T be disappointed.) And I had forgotten how hard Nathaniel Hawthorne can be to read! And, too, how much sin and depravity factor into his works. (The Scarlet Letter is still one of my favorites.)

I plan on continuing through that tome soon. The Fall of the House of Usher is up next in that one. I’m hoping the weather will lighten up enough this weekend for a few minutes on the porch again. (Although the forecast doesn’t look promising…summer in PA and all that. Guess I’ll have to just sink down into my comfy club chair in the coolness of the AC instead.)

The other books on this pile are a bit…political and history-minded for me, but still look interesting. I plan on delving into each of them as the days go forward. Notice Art of War in the background? I tried reading that one once…yikes. But you can get a good idea of what my hubby likes to read from that picture. History. And then more history. And then… history. He keeps claiming that many of them are written in such a good way that I would like them, but I usually prefer to escape reality when reading.

In addition, I just returned from a short stint at a local writing conference and actually added almost 300 words to my YA today. Keep up your prayers… I’m still struggling to get it out. I can think of things in my head to add but when I open the program it’s like my body just doesn’t want to do the work. I’m sure there is a deeper, psychological meaning to it all and covet your prayers. I’ll never live up to the likes of Hawthorne or Irving, but I want to at least give it a try.

What great works are you reading this summer? Pass along your all-time favorites (or current favs) in the comments below so we can all check them out!

Happy Monday!

 

2 thoughts on “Mini Post Monday: What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

