Mini Post Monday

Life and Happiness, Writing

Good Monday morning all! (No, I’m not usually so cheerful in the morning so don’t hate me.)

If you’ve been following me on Twitter or Facebook (and if you’re not… why not?) you know that I recently finished my young adult novel and it is currently up for pre-order (ebook only) on Amazon! I got the proof copy, too, from CreateSpace last week (oh, it felt so good to hold the actual product in my hands! Sweet, sweet accomplishment!). I made a few minor changes to the paperback (mostly to the cover – which I designed myself!) The Kindle version AND paperback will be available December 16th. I hope you all check it out and leave me wonderful reviews. I would be blessed if you did.

I also worked with two other bloggers to do guest blogging last week. If you missed it, check them out here and here. In addition, I’ve connected with a few other authors through American Christian Fiction Writers and a Facebook group of authors online. It all adds up to increasing my tribe. Plus, I love meeting and chatting with like-minded folks. You never know who you might meet and it gives me new stuff to read as well!

I also became a Gold Member (no Austin Power jokes, please) on the Christian Pen Network – check that out here.

AND I started a sequel to my YA. I didn’t think there was going to be a sequel – it seemed one and done to me, but sometimes God has other plan. I’m not doing NANO (National Novel Writing Month) (shout out to my friends who are, but they probably aren’t taking time to read this!) but I’ve started it and hope it’ll be out by next year sometime. (HA! That’s funny. This first book took almost two years so my goal settings need some work, but I can hope!) The second book follows Beth, the secondary character in my first novel, and is ten years in the future. We’ll see Beth struggle with loss and how to find a way to a happy future. She may even find love! (PS – I think it’s going to be a romance! Something I thought I’d NEVER write, but…well, like I said, God is funny sometimes.)

So that’s all the good news. Now, the bad…or not so good, I guess.

My husband is facing a lot of stress at work as well as trying to obtain his doctorate online. This means a lot of late nights studying and work meetings that go past his normal departure time. We haven’t seen a lot of each other and we’ve both been stressed. We do our best to find time for one another and to utilize every minute we do have to our best advantage, but it’s not always easy. I work from home and often don’t speak to a lot of people during the day (other than email) so I long to chat with my best friend when he gets home, but sometimes that doesn’t happen. It can be frustrating, but we’re relying on God to get us through this trying time. It’s not life or death, but it’s our marriage so it is important. Your prayers are appreciated.

I pray each and every one of you has accomplishments you can share with your friends this week, too and I pray for the things in your life that aren’t going so well, either. God bless and have a great week!

PS – This week is Thanksgiving so find something – even one thing – to be thankful for this week and enjoy your families!

 

 

Leave a Reply

