This Post Needs a Title I Cannot Write

Life and Happiness

My baby has cancer. And by baby, I mean my beloved four-legged fur ball, Max.

20131215_075135

I’d noticed some swelling near his throat in the last week or so and he’s been having trouble eating. My vet had recently made some changes and I put off calling because I wasn’t sure I wanted to go back there. Max has had several vets over the years and sometimes I’ve felt like they just didn’t care. So I tend to wait it out before I make a rash phone call. But then Max started to eat less and it was harder and harder to get food in him. (He’s lost about five pounds now.) I worried it was because of the lumps. I worried it was because he couldn’t swallow.

I can tell you I put it off due to the vet issue – I just DID tell you that, in fact – but, truly, it was because I was worried. I was worried it was cancer. I was worried it was the end. But when a friend suggested another vet who had treated her pets with the utmost care, I decided it was time.

When the new vet said the “C” word, I fought back tears. When she told me about tests and prognosis (less than a year), I swallowed hard. When she left the room, I wept. My fears had been confirmed. My baby was dying.

I’ve had Max for thirteen years. When I bought my first house, the first thing I wanted to do was get a dog. No home, in my opinion, is complete without a dog. I’ve been in love with him from the moment I laid eyes on him and he’s been my baby ever since.

20141017_14585520160109_124928    20160229_213607

When I cry, he comes and nudges my leg.

When I’m sick, he snuggles with me and keeps me warm.

When I was lonely in my house, he would lay next to me on the couch, hogging his spot and reminding me I was not alone.

When I met my soon-to-be husband, he pretended to like him. (The treat helped.)

When I moved my pooch into a new house, he quickly claimed the yard, the living room, the kitchen and the couch pillows. (A habit we’ve since put an end to.)

He barks fiercely at Amish buggys, neighbor dogs, people on bicycles, motorcycles and stray leaves. He doesn’t see or hear well anymore. He has a multitude of other issues that we’ve been on numerous medications, ointments and drops to fix and maintain. But this cannot be maintained or stopped. This cannot be fixed. This will kill my baby.

So now I’ll be taking more time for snuggles. I’ll be posting a lot more pics on my social media pages of my little fur ball. I’ll be probably making a few videos, too. And now Max will be able to eat pretty much whatever his heart desires.

The only true way I know to cope with the upcoming moments in my life is to write them down. So that’s what I’ve done here. I cannot explain how much my dog means to me. If you’re a pet owner, you get it. If you’re not…you’re missing out. Because although the loss of a pet is one of life’s greatest heartbreaks, knowing their unconditional love is one of life’s greatest joys.

You’ll never understand how great the hurt
or what you meant to me.
But, in the end, you spread a love so deep and wide,
that’s all I needed it to be.

img_20140502_083033

11 thoughts on “This Post Needs a Title I Cannot Write

  1. I know, I know. My Heidi was 14 when she did with the cancer. A story about her. I had some dianthis in the back yard. It would have many buds on it but never any flowers bloomed. One day I looked out the kitchen window and saw her nipping off the buds and eating them. They had a very nice spicy smell and I guess that was the attraction. So after she died I buried her in the back yard and planted diantis on her grave.

    1. That’s sweet. I’m considering having my dad, who is a carpenter, make Max a nice small box for his ashes. I wasn’t going to but I just want him with me. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Hearing about Max’s illness brings back memories of our last days with Brandy Rose, our previous dog, who died of a type of lymph/blood cancer. Writing helps writers, so keep writing.

  3. I’m so sorry to hear this, we’ll be happy to lovingly look at your stories, memories and videos.  Thanks for sharing…it is so hard. Surely the fate of human beings is like that of the animals; the same fate awaits them both: As one dies, so dies the other. All have the same breath; humans have no advantage over animals. Everything is meaningless.  All go to the same place; all come from dust, and to dust all return. Who knows if the human spirit rises upward and if the spirit of the animal goes down into the earth? – Ecclesiastes 3:19-21 (New International Version, ©2011)

    | Our lives are shaped as much by those who leave us as they are by those who stay. Loss is our legacy. Insight is our gift. Memory is our guide.. |

    From: Sue’s Simple Snippets To: dona2323@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, February 24, 2017 7:40 AM Subject: [New post] This Post Needs a Title I Cannot Write #yiv3635281959 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3635281959 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3635281959 a.yiv3635281959primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3635281959 a.yiv3635281959primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3635281959 a.yiv3635281959primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3635281959 a.yiv3635281959primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3635281959 WordPress.com | suefair48 posted: “My baby has cancer. And by baby, I mean my beloved four-legged fur ball, Max.I’d noticed some swelling near his throat in the last week or so and he’s been having trouble eating. My vet had recently made some changes and I put off calling because ” | |

  4. Both of our fur babies (Magic and Molly) are buried in our backyard along with our son’s family fur baby (Chewey). I had headstones made for them from old awards I received while I was employed. It has been about three years since our Molly passed and we finally decided to get another baby. Her name is Matilda.

Leave a Reply

