Overcoming the Hurt

My last post began a bit of a rant I’ve been holding on to for awhile about the hurt that happened to me in my church family. I don’t wish to perpetuate the hurt to others, but I felt a calling from God to write all this down. As many of my readers know, I work through pain and struggles in my own life best when I can write it down. It’s a process.

Today, as we begin a new week, I want to explore how I’m coping with the hurt I’ve experienced in my church. Here is a list of five things I’ve been working on:

  1. Prayer. First and foremost, I believe it’s important to take our petitions to God. He knows our hurt, has probably foreseen it and is the only true help. Here has been my prayer: Dear heavenly father, help me to rid my heart of this pain and bitterness. Help me to see others as you see them. Help me to move past this grief, anger and resentment. Amen.
  2. Study. I’m already working my way through the Bible in a process to grow closer to God and to help me write a Bible study I’m working on. However, I tend to skip days in this process. So I’m working hard to be more consistent in this study time. After all, if I cannot commit to God – how can I truly say that I’m following His will for my life?
  3. Seeking others words. I haven’t picked up a Christian-type book for personal reflection, other than the Bible, in a long time. Recently, my husband and I went through our bookshelves to make room for other books we’ve accumulated and I ran across two that were my husbands but that I’d never read. Now, instead of filling my time worrying about this hurt I feel or with programs and books that don’t lift up my heart, I’m digging into these books. I’m currently working on Jesus is for Liars: A Hypocrite’s Guide to Authenticity by Tim Baker.51dadhv1nsl-_sy346_
  4. Speaking about my hurt. I’m writing these blogs in order to get my hurt out and to also connect with others who may have felt these same issues. I’m putting myself out there, so to speak. I know I might come across some “haters” but I also might connect with others who are struggling, too. I feel like connecting is one of the ways we can truly overcome our pain.
  5. Understanding it’s not just me. I feel deeply that God wanted me to write this all down for others to read. I know that other people have had struggles with their church. (The book I mentioned above starts with a story just like mine.) If we can truly be transparent in our individual walks with God – think about how much stronger we might be as a church body. If only we were truly honest with one another and stopped trying to be something we think others want us to be – consider how powerful we could be for the will of Christ.

I hope that this week brings you joy, encouragement, and much success in all you hope to accomplish.

14586293890_528c454415_oFinally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.
Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil.
For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

With all prayer and petition pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints, and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak. Ephesians 6:10-20 NASB

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

