Mini Post Monday

Last week was a bit frantically paced for me. I’m also frantically writing this post at the last minute (not really, but it feels like it) and I’ve felt quite frantic and flustered most of the past week. My stress level has been at an all time high. So, here are the five things that have been on my mind the most.

  • I had to take my pup back to the vet. I’d seen some signs of progression with his lymphoma and I didn’t want to guess. I wanted answers to questions. The vet checked him out again and, sure enough, his disease is rapidly progressing. I may only have my beloved pet with me for a few short weeks more – I’ll need to decide when it seems like it’s just too much for all of us. I’m not looking forward to this moment, but I can tell you that loads of friends and people I don’t even know have offered prayer, encouragement, advice and support for me. I’ve never been through this before and I’m appreciative of the outpouring of love. It will not be easy but I am comforted by these small acts of kindness.

  • I’m writing down a diary of sorts about my pup, Max. It has helped me deal a bit with the grief so far and I’m thinking it may even make a decent small book one day. I’ve started to include stories from the past thirteen years that my companion and I have shared to try and lighten the very dark, current moments. I’m also including some of the advice and encouragements you all have shared with me. If God has a plan for it, I pray it’ll get into the hands of anyone who might need it someday. For now, it’s helping me release my internal grief and struggle.
  • Last Saturday my hubby surprised me with a day trip to Staten Island for a Lady Boss makeover. It was one of the best experiences of my life – not because I got all dolled up and then taken out to dinner – but because my husband took the initiative and planned the entire thing himself. It was very much out of his comfort zone, but he did it for me and I cannot love him more for it. I know he listens and understands me in ways that no one else does. He knew I’d been feeling pretty low about my appearance and my self worth and he chose to make me feel special because he thinks I deserve it. I love you, John!

    • Those of you who read my post about being hurt by the church will be happy to know that it started a dialogue that, I pray, will lead to real change. A few of us in the church are starting to plan some events which will, hopefully, engage our members and the community. We have several events planned for 2017 and we’re hopeful that these will once again bring a light to our dim outlook. God still has plans for this church and we are being lead in the Spirit!
    • My editing business is currently booming! As with many businesses, my editing business is experiencing a “feast” moment. I’ve been busy with several clients and am loving it. I could only pray it’ll last, but I know, eventually, one of those “famine” moments will come along. I wish I could fill every month with the work of clients who need my expertise, but it’s all about marketing and timing. I truly love the clients I’ve recently added to my roster and had one give me this glowing feedback:

You have truly gone above and beyond, and I appreciate that so much. Your work is astounding, and I appreciate what you’ve done for me. I feel as though I’ve improved greatly as a writer from working with you, and I’m grateful for that opportunity to have worked with you. ~ S. Mananquil

You can’t ask for much more then that. I tell all my clients how blessed I am to edit their work and I try to encourage each of them to keep reaching for their goals. I’m so thankful that God places people in my life, moves me in directions I wouldn’t normally expect and is there to lift me up when I fall. When we rely on the Holy Spirit in our lives we can see great things happen. This post proves that even though we may face hardship, grief and pain, there will always be joy in the morning.

Sing praise to the Lord, you His godly ones,
And give thanks to His holy name.
For His anger is but for a moment,
His favor is for a lifetime;
Weeping may last for the night,
But a shout of joy comes in the morning.

Psalm 30:4-5 NASB

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mini Post Monday

  1. John Quinlan says:

    When my wife died I was having a lot of grief. One of the things that helped me the most was a book,”Getting Through The Night” by Eugenia Price. The main idea it is based on
    Psalm 30: 5b, “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” Over time I have read it many times and it always helps a lot. I recommend it for anyone facing loss of a loved one. As an aside she has written some very good novels as well.

  2. Linda Marie Zupancic says:

    Sorry to here about your furry friend 😔. I had to put my dachshund to sleep last October, he was 12 yrs and he had back issues that had become chronic, too much pain and the meds didnt work any more. It was even harder because he had laid with me every day during a difficult time I was having, my best buddy. I too like you, wrote things down, it did help. I created a rough ( not polished ) picture book for my grandchildren who also loved him. Our pets get entwined within our heart and souls, thats why it hurts so much, I can’t imagine loosing a child. I certainly dont walk enough since I dont have to walk the dog. Blessings on your journey, praying that you will be given the wisdom that you need.

    • suefair48 says:

      I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve heard from many folks about how difficult it is to lose a pet. Thank you for your comment and God bless.

    • John Quinlan says:

      My dachshund, Heidi was 14 when she got the cancer. She was a lovable dog, except she did not like children. We thought it was because they were noisy and moved around so fast. She was so very friendly with adults though. When she was gone
      i fixed a nice grave for her in the back yard wiith flowers on it, her favorite, dianthes.

      • Linda Marie Zupancic says:

        True, children are unpredictable, especially toddlers. We became grandparents quickly, in 6 years we had 11 grandchildren. The dogs, we had two had no choice to adapt, since 4 of them lived in our basement suite. They did pretty good, we could tell when they had enough. It seemed to work best if they had a place of escape, to retreat to. We loved the dachshund personality. Miss them lots. What kind of flower is dianthes?

Leave a Reply

