Mini Post Monday

Life and Happiness, Uncategorized

Happy Monday everyone! I’m just back from an exciting writer’s conference and I’ve got a lot of catching up to do! June has been a busy month, but I’ve survived so far. Only a few more days and it’ll be July. Before you know it the summer will be over and I’ll be complaining about the cold temps in PA.

As I traversed the month of June, I realized I simply had booked too much on my plate. We all do it, don’t we? I couldn’t help that certain events, like my parent’s anniversary and my writing conference both fell in June. But I also forced myself to get several home projects done in this month, too – things that could have been put off for another time, another month.

All too often I realize that I try to do everything a once. I kept telling myself, “Well, July will be so boring since I’m doing it all in June.” But it never actually ends up that way, does it?

Looking back on June now, I’m thankful God helped me through the stress and the plethora of activities, but I know I could have been a better manager of my time by not dumping so much on my plate in the first place. Most of what I tried to accomplish was because of my own selfish desires. A lot of the things I had to do was because I’d committed to too many things in the first place. Not once did I schedule down time. Most mornings it was a struggle to simply open my Bible and have time with the Lord. Simply because I felt like there wasn’t enough time in the day.

Yet, we always find time to do the things we want to do, don’t we? I forced my husband to work on one of the hottest Sundays so far this year just because I wanted some landscaping done. The yard was torn up and I didn’t like how it looked so I coerced him into getting it done despite the heat and despite the fact that we both probably could have used a day of rest instead.

It’s so easy to fill our time with useless things. We often don’t see them as useless, but they really are. If that landscaping hadn’t gotten done it would have been fine. The work would have waited. If I didn’t do everything “perfectly” for my parent’s anniversary, they never would have known.

But if I’d spent just a few more minutes with God each morning, it may have made a difference in my life. Perhaps I wouldn’t be obsessed with the material world or wouldn’t have stressed so much that things weren’t getting done. Maybe I would have even slept better had I relied a bit more on God and His peace in my life.

So, once again, I’ll start fresh today. Maybe July really won’t be that hectic. Maybe, for once, I’ll truly seek to relax instead of run.

How about you? What’s on your schedule this week? Did you pencil in rest and time with God? I know I will be.

God bless and happy Monday!

 

5 thoughts on “Mini Post Monday

  1. I’m being forced into a bit of rest this week because I think I’m coming down with a cold. In June! How did this happen? Your post is a great reminder that I should spend part of my time in prayer and reading the Bible rather than scrolling twitter. I hope you find some rest in July!

  2. So much truth in this short-but-sweet post! A timely reminder not to overcrowd our schedules with trivia, at the expense of things far more important or even eternal. The end of the St. David’s conference is a great time to reflect on what’s really important in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

