Something To Talk About

Life and Happiness

Last week I wrote a post about depression. I told some friends that it wouldn’t be well received and I’d probably lose some readers. “People don’t like to read depressing things,” I said.

The funny thing is – you did. And I received a good number of comments, too. I wasn’t truly surprised, but it did kind of worry me. You see, not everyone talks about it. Depression is a disease that we keep silent about all too often and I’m not sure why. When I talk with friends, I’m astounded when they tell me they, too, suffer from depression or their mother, father, son, daughter, cousin, pastor, milk man…also suffers.

Because we don’t talk about it, we don’t realize how MANY people depression, on some level, affects. Maybe you’re like me: an occasionally sufferer. Maybe it’s more serious and you need counseling. Maybe it’s gotten to the point where medication is needed or even time in a facility. Maybe, I wonder, could the more serious depression been avoided if it had been discussed sooner?

I want my friends to know I am okay. I have bouts of depression and I have treatments that I utilize. I do know,  if it starts to worsen, to seek medical advice and treatment. And I am thankful for people like my husband and close, personal friends whom I can trust to help me when it gets bad.

But if you’re past this point, don’t hesitate to talk with someone. Find a trusted friend or doctor to discuss your feelings. It might not just be a “passing phase” or something that will get better on its own. Be aware of your feelings, your moods, and your body signals. And get help when you need it.

Don’t be embarrassed. Talk it out. I think you’ll be surprised how many people you will relate to and how comforting that can be. I know it was for me.

As we go into this weekend, my goals are to find time to set aside for rest. I am seeking to let my mind rest and to find things I enjoy without stress. It’s not an easy task, but I know I can do it. And I’ll be healthier as a result.

God bless and happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

