The Plight of a Bird

“There is a wounded bird on the front porch. I heard a commotion and went out to look. A pigeon stood over the poor thing so I’ve shooed it off twice. The bird has moved a bit and seems to be coherent. I think this stupid pigeon has been killing off the other birds. He and I had a bit of a stare down earlier. (Isn’t my life exciting?)”

This is part of an email I sent to my husband the other day. Working from home certainly has a lot of pitfalls, doesn’t it? Like, for instance, apparently it’s partially my job to protect the wildlife around my home.

No, it isn’t really. However, in the last month, we’ve disposed of several young birds around our property. We have a tulip tree that overhangs a side deck and have scooped up at least two dead birds and a destroyed nest under that tree in the last three weeks. It’s apparently an epidemic in our neighborhood. And I feel partially responsible because it’s MY tree. But don’t these dumb birds understand that something is out to get them (namely, said pigeon above)? They keep making nests in that tree.

This little guy (girl?) is sheltered in the shade of my potted plant now, but I’m worried about him. He’s breathing quite heavily and I think he’s probably been pushed out of the nest too soon. I always hesitate to take in nature because I don’t have the skills and believe in the food chain, but it’s sad that he seems so beat down in his life right now. (Although I’m glad he found this shade. That porch gets HOT in the afternoon.)

I think about how I’ve been feeling lately. I feel a little beat down. Pushed out (too soon, perhaps) of my comfort zone in many areas of my life. Things keep trying to attack me, attack my home, my career, my health…but I keep getting back up, trying to find the shade, trying to find shelter in the storms of life.

This makes me think about this song.

Ramblers in the wilderness we can’t find what we need
We get a little restless from the searching
Get a little worn down in between
Like a bull chasing the matador is the man left to his own schemes
Everybody needs someone beside em’ shining like a lighthouse from the sea

Brother let me be your shelter
Never leave you all alone
I can be the one you call
When you’re low
Brother let me be your fortress
When the night winds are driving on
Be the one to light the way
Bring you home

I wish this bird knew to rely on me. (Can he rely on me?) But he shudders when I get close. I can see his little bird brain contemplating if I’m a good guy or a bad guy. I’m bigger than him. It’s in his nature to run from predators. I feel that way a lot of the time. Are the people who come and go from my life there to help or hurt? Who can I trust?

During these down times I need someone to help me back up, someone to shelter me, to be my fortress when the winds are driving on. My husband is good for those things, I have learned to trust him. But he’s being beat down too. He needs shelter as well. He can’t always stand up for me when he’s feeling down himself. Friends are the same. But, you what? My God is always there. He is my fortress, my shelter, my stronghold in times of distress. He holds me up and lifts my soul. He provides shade when I need it. He can protect me from the bad and comfort me even when it hits.

Here’s another song I consider during these times:

The Joy of the Lord is My Strength. In the darkness I’ll dance. In the shadows I’ll sing.

The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving. Psalm 28:7

With our God, we can have joy even in the darkest night. We can dance and sing because we know He is our strength. He can do all things. As a result, WE can do all things. The darkness has no bearing when we have the light within us. We can lean on Him and seek shelter in His being.

I pray this little bird will be strengthened from within. I pray he will find shelter and I pray that other bird will leave him alone. I know God cares for every living thing and He will do what is best for this little guy. As he will do what is best for me. I need only trust that He will do so.

As we venture into the weekend, remember to take the time to thank God for every little bit of hope in your life. Were you able to get out of bed on your own this morning? Praise God. Were you able to provide basic shelter and nourishment for yourself? Praise God. Are you able to provide for your family either financially or emotionally? Praise God.

I praise God for you. For my readers, my supporters, and my family. God has placed every one of you in my life for a purpose and I am thankful.

Happy Friday!

 

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

