Mini Post Monday!

Life and Happiness

Can you believe it’s August already? Summer is winding down and I still have SO much on my to-do list. I’ve started spending more time in the sun in order to (hopefully) ward off the early onset of my Seasonal Affective Disorder and I’ve convinced my husband (most of the time) to not sit in the house on the weekends when it’s been nice. I know that soon winter will be upon us and I’ll be stuck inside for a few months so I’m making the most of my time outside now!

As some of you know, we have solar panels on our garage roof that help us with the electricity bill. My husband keeps a tight watch on their production (trying to justify the cost of them, no doubt) and told me the other day we had 30 days LESS sun than this time last year! That is NOT good news to a SAD suffering. Good thing I have my blog, my friends and a journal to help when things get gloomier.

In addition, kids will be going back to school soon. I had promised my oldest god daughter that we’d spend some time together this summer but the days just keep ticking away so quickly! So last Tuesday we spent a few hours together painting some pottery and having a nice lunch (with ice cream!). I am learning so much about her as she gets older. She’ll be nine soon and absolutely loves to read. Which makes me super proud, but guess what? She likes nonfiction! She’s all about books that tell a story about historical people. She told me she recently finished a book about Louis Braille(I wasn’t even sure who that was because she didn’t pronounce his name like I know it)! I’m so enamored with her, I can’t even tell you. She’s at that age where we can have a conversation and she’s so incredibly intelligent. I don’t remember being that smart when I was her age. In fact, I might not be that smart now. As we were painting last week, I shook one of the paint bottles but forgot to put my finger over the lid. Can you guess what happened?

PS – the white splotch isn’t supposed to be there.

Thankfully, the guy said the paint should come out in the wash and I didn’t mess up anybody else’s work. Nor did I spill paint on my little friend.

But, in the end, it was fun and I told her she learned a lesson (keep your finger over the lid!) and now has a story to tell. Plus, ice cream fixes everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope to still spend some more time with her before she heads back to school. (And, BTW, she’s counting down the days until school begins. A girl after my own heart.)

With my business, I’m working on being more organized. That’s hard for a creative type like myself. However, it’s essential to my business to try and be more focused on what I write and how I project myself to my adoring fans (PS – that’s you). I’m getting started by using a planner. Okay, I haven’t purchased it yet, but I’m going to and I’m hoping it’ll be pretty at the very least. Oh, and functional, I guess.

If you’re on other social medias, be sure to follow me, especially Instagram – I post some pretty fun stuff on there. Happy Monday!

6 thoughts on “Mini Post Monday!

  1. I think it’s just the best thing to get to watch a kid mature and have their own opinions about the world. My daughter is 12 now and we have the best conversations. I hope you get to have another wonderful day together before school starts. And some more sunshine would be nice too!

    #mondyblogs

  2. It sounds like you had a wonderful day making memories with your goddaughter. We watched all three grandchildren on Saturday for much of the day, then when the parents returned, brought the girls home to our house for the promised overnight. (Like your day, we had been trying to schedule this since the start of summer.) We camped indoors – even set up the tent in the living room to sleep in. We built a small campfire in the driveway and made s’mores. Can you believe they (ages 2 and 4) had never had s’mores?

    Hoping for plenty of sunshine in the coming weeks. At our house, we’ve had lots of cloudy skies, but we’re below average on precipitation so far this year. It seems that the pop-up showers for the most part go north or south of us.

  3. Be careful with that planner. I had an Income Tax business for many years. One of my clients showed me her new Daily Planner. On the front page she had her name, address, Social Security Number, Bank Account Number and other important information. I told her if it was in her purse and she lost or misplaced it someone would have all the information needed to steal her identity. Please be careful.

Leave a Reply

