This Little Plant of Mine

Last year I revamped my office space and added in touches of color and this plant.

I wanted to include a growing, living thing because in the winter in PA, I sometimes get a bout of Seasonal Affective Disorder. Having the plant reminds me that things will grow and thrive again (including me). It’s helped me to refocus during really wintry, snowy days and I love having it on my desk.

If you know me, you know that I’m not a wiz at growing indoor plants. I have a whole slew of them upstairs that seem to thrive, but I think it’s mainly due to the warmth and sun filtering of the room itself. (i.e. I take no credit.) In fact, I very often forget to water these plants for WEEKS at a time. My husband, A.K.A. the black thumb, refuses to touch them, but will advise me when one is looking particularly piqued. The only one that boasts any flowers is my African violet which seems to bloom constantly despite my lack of attention. The rest are “foliage” type plants (see, I don’t even know the proper name) that don’t get flowers. (Okay, I have two others that are SUPPOSED to get flowers, but they rarely do.)

Due to my lack of watering propensities, the plant on my desk very often will start to droop and look like it’s on the verge of death. Thankfully, since I see this plant every day, I am more apt to water it and bring it back to life, which it does quite readily once given some life-altering liquid. (I had to advise my husband of this when I went away for a week, lest he think he killed it.)

Today, after having watered the plant in the morning, I was editing away and heard a noise. I stopped my typing and listened. There was the sound again to my right. Was it some sort of vermin in the walls or something outside? I was unsure, but listened more closely and finally discovered the source. My plant. The leaves were moving.

My first instinct was to think about a Little Shop Of Horrors type plant.

But then I realized, this IS a live thing. Of course it will grow and move! I’d just never seen a plant actually DO that before. First one leaf started to move upward and then it scratched against another (the noise I was hearing) until several of the leaf sections were growing upward.

And it was then that I realized something. All it needed was a little bit of water, a little bit of nourishment, to grow. I found this to be quite comforting. With only a little bit of watering, this plant sprang back to its full height within the hour.

I took out my Bible and began to study. As you know, my Bible study is one of the things that often suffers when I’m overwhelmed and busy. But, this morning, I realized it was the life-giving liquid I’d been so thirsty for lately.

Day after day we often feel beat down and dried up like this neglected plant. Where can we get out nourishment? Where can we find that life-giving support we need?

God. Each and every time.

As the deer pants for streams of water,

so my soul pants for you, my God.

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

Psalm 42:1-2

*****************

On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”
John 7:37

*******************

 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.”

“Sir,” the woman said, “you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get this living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well and drank from it himself, as did also his sons and his livestock?”

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”
John 4:10-14

 

So, today, when you’re filling dried up and discouraged, consider going to Jesus for a refreshing sip of His life-giving liquid. I would venture a guess that, like my plant, you’ll be growing and thriving in no time.

About suefair48

Writer, Editor, Blogger, Christian - in the pursuit of joy and God's timing through life's simple snippets.
This entry was posted in Life and Happiness, Religion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

